Chemical & Biological Safety Section



The Chemical/Biological Safety Section (CBSS) of the Office of Environmental Health and Safety has the responsibility to provide the University and Hospital with occupational health/hygiene support services, that is, the anticipation, recognition, evaluation, and control of health hazards in the work environment.
 

CBSS Programs

New Faculty Orientation*

Asbestos

  • Asbestos Management Program
  • Biological Safety Carcinogen Safety*

    Chemical Waste Management*

    Dangerous Goods Information* Emergency Response Hazard Communication Industrial Hygiene

    Laboratory Safety

    Nanotechnology & Nanoparticles*

    Respiratory Protection*

    Training Water Quality


    *Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader (available here)


    CBSS Personnel

    Assistant Director -
    Roma M. Owen, M.S., CHSP
    rmarajowen@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer Senior - 
    Michael Elliott, M.S., RBP
    mtelliott@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer Senior -
    Larry Mendoza, M.S., RBP
    lgmendoz@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer -
    Vickie Haller
    vhaller@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer
    Virginia Sykes
    vwsykes@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer-
    -vacant-

    Safety Engineer-
    Eric Fidler
    efidler@vcu.edu

    Safety Engineer-
    Ann Fowler
    aefowler@vcu.edu

    Asbestos Specialist -
    Dave Patterson
    dpatters@vcu.edu

    Hazardous Waste Coordinator - 
    Tyler Whiting
    tjwhiting@vcu.edu

    Hazardous Waste Coordinator - 
    William Riddell
    riddellwj@vcu.edu

    Curriculum Administrator
    Helga Mitchell

    hcmitchell@vcu.edu

     
     
     


    Other Health & Safety Links

    about CBSS web pages, please contact Roma Maraj Owen .

    : 828-4866



    OEHS Home Page VCU Home Page

    Last update : December 14, 2014